A4O Accounts vs TinyTax
TinyTax is a filing tool for UK micro-entities: you bring the year’s figures, and it produces the accounts and CT600 and files them. A4O Accounts keeps the books as well and builds the filings from them, for micro-entities and larger companies.
Information checked: 1 October 2026, against TinyTax’s own website. Products and prices change, so check their site before you decide. Tell us if something here is out of date.
Side by side
| Capability | A4O Accounts | TinyTax |
|---|---|---|
| Where the figures come from | The books you keep in A4O Accounts | Figures you enter, or a trial balance import. Last year’s closing balance sheet is carried in source |
| Bookkeeping | Included, with bank statement import | Not stated for the filing plans |
| Company sizes | Micro-entity, small, full, audited and dormant accounts | Micro-entities: at least two of turnover under £1 million, balance sheet under £500,000, fewer than 10 employees source |
| Charities and clubs | No CT600E | Yes, with CT600E source |
| CT600 and tax computation | Yes, with the computation in iXBRL | Yes, with iXBRL and tax computations source |
| Supplementary pages | CT600A and CT600L | CT600E. The site says R&D credits, group structures and complex loss reliefs aren’t supported source |
| Accounts longer than 12 months | You create a return for each accounting period | Split into two CT600 submissions automatically source |
| Filing with HMRC and Companies House | Yes, both | Yes, both source |
| Confirmation statement | Yes | £74 per company a year, including the £50 Companies House fee source |
| Several clients | Yes, under one login. No practice-wide deadline view or bulk actions yet | Multi-client dashboard, with plans up to 1,000 companies source |
| Price | £0 to get started | Dormant £20 a year, one trading company £59 a year, 2–3 companies £99 a year, excluding VAT source |
| Trying it | Free to get started; test submissions before filing | Prepare the CT600 and preview the accounts free. Filing needs a subscription source |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the pages we checked. It doesn’t mean the product can’t do it. A4O Accounts is free to get started, including filing; if we ever introduce paid plans, we’ll tell you at least 30 days before anything changes.
Which suits you
TinyTax is suited to
- Micro-entities with simple affairs and the year’s figures already to hand
- Dormant companies wanting a low fixed price
- Small charities and clubs that need CT600E
- First-year accounts longer than 12 months, split for you
A4O Accounts is suited to
- Companies that want to keep their books in the same place as the filings
- Small companies above the micro-entity limits, and full or audited accounts
- Returns with a director’s loan (CT600A) or an R&D claim (CT600L)
Sources
Everything about TinyTax above was taken from these pages on 1 October 2026.
TinyTax — Home
TinyTax — Features
TinyTax — Pricing
Read next
See how A4O Accounts handles your return.
Add your company, bring in the books and work through this year’s accounts and CT600.
No card required.