A4O Accounts vs Capium
Capium is a cloud suite for accountancy practices, sold as modules: bookkeeping, accounts production, corporation tax, payroll, self assessment and practice management. A4O Accounts covers a narrower job, books to accounts to CT600 to filing, in one product.
Information checked: 1 October 2026, against Capium’s own website. Products and prices change, so check their site before you decide. Tell us if something here is out of date.
Side by side
| Capability | A4O Accounts | Capium |
|---|---|---|
| Where the figures come from | The books you keep in A4O Accounts | Capium’s bookkeeping module, which feeds its accounts and tax modules source |
| Bookkeeping | Included, with bank statement import | A separate module, Bookkeeping (MTD VAT) source |
| Statutory accounts | Built from the books: micro-entity, small, full, audited and dormant | The Accounts Production module: FRS 102 and FRS 105, as full, abridged or filleted accounts source |
| CT600 and tax computation | Yes, with the computation in iXBRL | The Corporation Tax module generates returns and submits them to HMRC source |
| Supplementary pages | CT600A and CT600L only | Not stated |
| iXBRL | Tagged as the accounts and computation are produced | Integrated iXBRL tagging in Accounts Production source |
| Filing with HMRC and Companies House | Yes, both | Yes, both source |
| Practice management | No. Deadlines are shown per client, with no practice-wide view, tasks or bulk actions | A Practice Management module for assigning tasks and tracking deadlines across clients source |
| Payroll and self assessment | Payroll (PAYE) is live. Self assessment isn’t available | Payroll and Self Assessment modules source |
| How it runs | In a web browser | In the cloud source |
| Price | £0 to get started | Plans from £140 a month for up to 100 clients, excluding VAT, with modules priced per plan. 12-month contract source |
| Trying it | Free to get started; test submissions before filing | Free trial source |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the pages we checked. It doesn’t mean the product can’t do it. A4O Accounts is free to get started, including filing; if we ever introduce paid plans, we’ll tell you at least 30 days before anything changes.
Which suits you
Capium is suited to
- Practices that want practice management, payroll and self assessment alongside accounts and tax
- Firms with enough clients to justify a monthly plan and a 12-month contract
- Teams that need tasks and deadlines tracked across every client
A4O Accounts is suited to
- Small practices and companies that only need the limited company year end
- Anyone who wants to start without a contract or a monthly fee
- Returns that need no supplementary page, or only CT600A or CT600L
Sources
Everything about Capium above was taken from these pages on 1 October 2026.
Capium — Corporation tax software
Capium — Accounts production
Capium — Pricing
Read next
See how A4O Accounts handles your return.
Add your company, bring in the books and work through this year’s accounts and CT600.
No card required.