A4O Accounts vs BTCSoftware
BTCSoftware makes a tax and accounts suite for accountants, with separate modules for accounts production, corporation tax, practice management and company secretarial work. It has joined Bright and is moving customers to BrightTax. A4O Accounts keeps the books and builds the accounts and CT600 from them, in one product.
Information checked: 1 October 2026, against BTCSoftware’s own website. Products and prices change, so check their site before you decide. Tell us if something here is out of date.
Side by side
| Capability | A4O Accounts | BTCSoftware |
|---|---|---|
| Where the product is going | One web product | BTCSoftware has joined Bright and is moving to BrightTax, a cloud product covering Self Assessment, Corporation Tax, Annual Accounts and VAT source |
| Where the figures come from | The books you keep in A4O Accounts | Accounts Production links with bookkeeping products including Xero, QuickBooks and Sage source |
| Bookkeeping | Included, with bank statement import | Not stated. It links to other bookkeeping products source |
| Statutory accounts | Built from the books: micro-entity, small, full, audited and dormant | A separate Accounts Production module, which integrates with Corporation Tax source |
| CT600 and tax computation | Yes, with the computation in iXBRL | CT600 with iXBRL computations and iXBRL accounts, submitted to HMRC source |
| Supplementary pages | CT600A and CT600L only | Not stated |
| Companies House | Accounts, confirmation statements and company changes | A Company Secretarial module with CS01 filing, statutory books and e-filing source |
| Practice management | No. Deadlines are shown per client, with no practice-wide view, tasks or bulk actions | A Practice Management module with deadline tracking source |
| How it runs | In a web browser | Desktop or hosted cloud for the Solution Suite; BrightTax is cloud source |
| Moving your data | Opening balances as a journal, then bank statement import. We help by email | BrightTax offers UK-based migration support at no extra cost source |
| Price | £0 to get started | Not stated on the pages we checked. BrightTax mentions flexible plans, including monthly subscriptions source |
| Trying it | Free to get started; test submissions before filing | 7-day free trial source |
“Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the pages we checked. It doesn’t mean the product can’t do it. A4O Accounts is free to get started, including filing; if we ever introduce paid plans, we’ll tell you at least 30 days before anything changes.
Which suits you
BTCSoftware is suited to
- Practices whose clients keep their books in Xero, QuickBooks, Sage or similar
- Firms that want self assessment, practice management and company secretarial modules too
- Teams that prefer desktop software, or are already on the suite and moving to BrightTax
A4O Accounts is suited to
- Companies and small practices that want the books, accounts and CT600 in one place
- Anyone who wants to start free in a browser, with nothing to install
- Returns that need no supplementary page, or only CT600A or CT600L
Sources
Everything about BTCSoftware above was taken from these pages on 1 October 2026.
BTCSoftware — Solution Suite
BTCSoftware — Corporation Tax (BrightTax notice)
https://www.btcsoftware.co.uk/product/active-client-corporation-tax/
Read next
See how A4O Accounts handles your return.
Add your company, bring in the books and work through this year’s accounts and CT600.
No card required.